Maintaining and Improving

Back in May of 2011, I had felt worst than I have ever had in my life. Along with having anxiety and depression, I was overweight and unhealthy. I was smoking more than a pack of cigarettes a day, and eating non-stop.

One day, out of the blue, I decided that all had to change. Right then and there.

I had previously read the book ‘The Easy Way to Stop Smoking’ by Allen Carr and it prepared me to quit, but I was just scared of trying. This time I was ready. I figured if I was going to quit smoking, I should quit eating unhealthy, too. So I did. I was pretty surprised that I did not crave cigarettes at all. Not a bit, and I still don’t. The only thing I missed was the habit of it.

As for eating healthy, that was pretty easy, too. I originally followed ‘The 17 Day Diet’, which I found pretty simple to follow. I owe a lot of the simplicity to motivation because I felt a lot of it at the time. I was determined to reach my goal…

…and I did. I went from 228lbs (I am sure it is more than this, it is the number I had in MyFitnessPal on my first attempt to lose weight. I gained more after) to 116lb in a year.

2015-05-14 07.54.37

Before and After (now at 135)

Up until May of 2014, I pretty much ate what I wanted but watched my calorie amounts and continued to stay active. I was healthier but felt I needed to do more. I have Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS) and my symptoms started worsening. I did a lot of research about the issue and in the end, I decided to follow a Ketogenic diet. It is a high fat, low carb (HFLC) way of eating. I still follow to this day, a year later. It has helped a lot of my PCOS symptoms and has given me a lot more energy.  I am still learning about this way of eating. I’ve gained some weight back in the process of determining which macros were best for me, along with some weight gain from a strength training regime that I started.

As of right now, I am looking to drop a few pounds and build strength. I am lifting heavy 3 days a week and still do cardio exercise. I love learning and trying new types of workouts, supplements, and products related to health and fitness, so I will probably start adding reviews on products I have tried or will try in the future.

I’d love to hear from my readers about their experiences with weight loss, experience with a keto diet, recommendations for products/workouts, etc.  Let me know your tips and thoughts below. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

