The Oil Cleaning Method

As a regular reader of Reddit, I recently discovered a subreddit that had all kinds of topics about skincare, Skincare Addiction. One of the first posts I had noticed in was a topic about the Oil Cleaning Method (OCM).  It seemed like this was a miracle worker for a lot of people.  I recently started getting a lot of painful, cystic acne again and was pretty intrigued. The OCM isn’t something that is new to me, I’ve heard a lot of about it in the past year with so many oil cleansers hitting the market as part of a new trend.

I have tried using the Garnier Clean+ Nourishing Cleansing Oil without much success. In fact, it just caused me to breakout even more.  So at that time, I decided that the oil cleansing method was not for me.

So upon finding this post which is so informative, I decided to pull out my Garnier cleansing oil again and give it a try, using the method they had described in the post….two days later, breakouts.

So, not wanting to give up, I found a link which lists the Comedogenic Ratings of oils that can be used to cleanse your face. Since mineral oil has a rating of 0, and has had people breaking out from it in rare cases, I decided to go with that.

The mineral oil brand I picked up was the exact brand, which is Loblaws store brand. It was the only place I could find it and I am not even sure it is the right one, but it was the only one. It is listed as being a laxative. For some reason you have to ask a pharmacist for it since it is only available behind the counter…I can’t imagine why. Seriously, if you know why, can you comment below 🙂

2015-08-02 12.21.15

Anyways, I decided to give it a shot and was surprised how my acne started clearing up and the bumps that I had under my skin for so long were starting to come to a head. As of right now, almost everything is cleared. I just have the scarring left over from my previous spots.  My skin is starting to glow. It has only been a week so far, and I am hoping this keeps up.

So have you heard about the Oil Cleaning Method? Have you tried it? If so, what kind of results did you get? I’d love to know!

3 thoughts on “The Oil Cleaning Method

  1. I’ve heard so much about this and also read many success stories. However, as a sufferer from oily skin and adult acne, I am absolutely terrified to try this in case it makes it 100 times worse! Hope it continues to help you and I may give it a go…! T x

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment 🙂 I have combination skin and have had adult acne for the last 4 or so years. I was really scared to try it just incase everything would get worse. I have so many acne cleansers, lotions, treatments, etc. and none of them would help. I changed my diet and that helped a little, but it came back. As of right now, my skin feels balanced, no dry spots and no oily spots. I’m hoping it isn’t just a honeymoon phase that will end up coming back to haunt me. We’ll see 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

